Butter Crust Cinnamon Treats

DSC04741When I was a little girl Sunday was the best day of the week. My Mother would spend the day making  “Sunday Dinner” The smell of her special breads in the early morning, the fruit salads, chilling in the refrigerator, the seasonal vegetables, She would make one cake and three different pies. early in the day, and there was always double the pie crust, to make sure there were plenty of her famous Butter Crust Cinnamon Treats.

Those Sunday dinners taught me how to set a formal table, how important a good conversation was, the importance of good manners, and instilled in me a gratitude to the parents who raised me.

When I grew up and started my family, I instilled  the same experiences in their life. Now I share those times not only with my children but also my grandchildren.

I hope that you hand down the special traditions you experienced growing up. Remember this, some of our best memories often center around the foods we grew up with. Be sure you pass on those traditions with your loved ones. So enjoy this delectible treat as much as I have!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup chilled sweetened butter (1 cube)

1/2 cup chilled butter flavored Crisco

2Tbs sugar

1/3 cup cold water, chilled with ice cubes

2-2 1/4 cups sifted all purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1Tbs ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

3 Tbs  sugar

Directions:

In a large bowl sift flour, sugar and salt. Cut cold butter into chucks and add to flour. Add Crisco. With a pastry cutter, or two knives cut butter and crisco into pea sized bit with the flour. Slowly add water, 1 TBS at a time gently blending, until dough sticks together and pulls away from sides of bowl.  DO NOT OVER HANDLE DOUGH!!!. Form into ball and chill in refrigerator covered about 1 hour. Flour your pastry board, and roll into about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. In a small bowl mix the cinnamon, sugar and nutmeg. Spread sugar mixture over rolled out pie crust. Roll crust up jellyroll fashion, Pinch ends together. Arrange in pie tin in a “C'” shape. Bake in preheated 375 degree F. oven until golden brown. Cool thoroughly. Cut into i inch slices. These are best after setting overnight, but don’t be surprised to see them disappear before they have a chance to “set”!!

*PS* I have used this same recipe to make small shortbread,  jam filled cookies. In this case, simply cut the crust into about 4-5 inch circles; place a small amount  about 1/2 tsp your choice of jam or lemon curd. Fold the cirle in half, pinch the edges together. Bake in the oven about 15 to 20 minutes. These are wonderful. The picture  included is of the jam filled treats. YUMMY!!!DSC04745

One Response to “Butter Crust Cinnamon Treats”

  1. Savannah

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a comment